Board in General Surgery

You are here:

Dr Elizabeth Dennett, Chair
Dr Kellee Slater, Deputy Chair, IMG Chair
Mr Warren Hargreaves, Regional Chair, New South Wales
Dr Elizabeth Dennett, Regional Chair, New Zealand
Dr Kellee Slater, Regional Chair, Queensland
Mr Paul Hollington, Regional Chair, South Australia
Mr Matthew Croxford, Regional Chair, Victoria
Mr Michael Warner, Regional Chair, Western Australia
Mr Alan Saunder, RACS Specialty Elected Councillor - General Surgery
Mr Frank Miller, Rural Surgical Training Committee
Mr Brian Kirby, Rural Surgical Training Committee
Assoc Prof Richard Turner, SSE Committee Representative
Dr Carolyn Vasey, Trainee Representative
Mr Tom Wilson, Senior Examiner in General Surgery
Mr Michael Cox, GSA Representative
Mr Michael Rodgers, NZAGS Representative

The College is the principal body for the training and education of surgeons in Australia and New Zealand. Accreditation is given by the Australian Medical Council to the College and standards for education and training are established by the College.

The Board in General Surgery of the College has oversight for the conduct of the College Training Program in General Surgery, reporting to the Education Policy Board and the Council of the College.

The College collaborates with the General Surgeons Australia and the New Zealand Association of General Surgeons as agents of the College, to administer the Training Program.

The Specialist Surgical Training Program in General Surgery is designed to provide trainees with clinical and operative experience in order to learn special methods of investigation and become competent in techniques related to the discipline. At the conclusion of the Training Program it is expected that trainees will be able to perform as independent practitioners, meeting the requirements of all identified College competencies.

View the Contract (PDF 78 KB) between the College and the Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand.