Professional Development and Standards Board


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


The Professional Development and Standard Board (PDSB) is responsible to Council for providing the policy framework to:

  • ensure maintenance of competence of Fellows
  • provision of high quality surgical care to patients.

The PDSB meets in February, June and October each year.

Committees reporting to PDSB include:



Chair - Professor Julian Smith

Dr Catherine Ferguson
Chair - Professional Standards

Professor Spencer Beasley
Chair - Professional Development

Mr Richard Perry
Chair - Fellowship Services

Associate Professor Ian Bennett
Chair - Research and Audit

Associate Professor Phillip Carson
Chair - External Affairs

Mr Phil Truskett

Specialty society representatives

A/Prof Deborah Bailey
Australian and New Zealand Association of Paediatric Surgeons
 Mr Barry Beiles
Australian and New Zealand Society of Vascular Surgery

Mr Michael Johnson
Australian Orthopaedic Association
Dr Philip Davis
Australasian Society of Cardiac and Thoracic Surgeons

Mr Michael Dobson
Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery

Prof David Fletcher
General Surgeons Australia

Mr Malcolm Giles
New Zealand Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery

Mr Broughton Snell
Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons
Mr Simon Bann / Mr Ian Burton
New Zealand Association of General Surgeons

Mr Gary Duncan
New Zealand Association of Plastic Surgeons

Mr Edward Yee
New Zealand Orthopaedic Association

Mr Bruce Hall
Neurosurgical Society of Australasia

Mr David Winkle
Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand

Co-opted members

Mr Phillip Truskett
RACS representative on Australian Council on Healthcare Standards
Chair - Annual Scientific Congress Planning and Review Committee

Executive Director of Surgical Affairs (Australia)

Dr John Quinn

Executive Director of Surgical Affairs (New Zealand)

Mr Richard Lander

Dean of Education

Associate Professor Stephen Tobin


Professional Development and Standards Board Secretariat
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
College of Surgeons Gardens
250-290 Spring Street
East Melbourne VIC 3002 Australia

Telephone: +61 3 9276 7425
Fax: +61 3 9249 1219