Division	Fellowship Engagement		Ref. No.	POL-3063
Department	SA State Office			
Title	RP Jepson Medal			

1. PURPOSE AND SCOPE

The policy details the awarding of the RP Jepson Medal.

2. KEYWORDS

RP Jepson, Medal, Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM).

3. BODY OF POLICY

The RP Jepson Medal is a medal presented during the SA, NT & WA Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM) or during an annual papers' day held at the College in South Australia if the ASM is not held in South Australia.

Presenters must be prepared to travel to Western Australia or Northern Territory, should the meeting be held outside of South Australia.

The recipient receives a medal engraved with his/her name and year of the award.

Call for Abstracts are circulated to the entire South Australian Fellowship encouraging presenters who fulfil the eligibility criteria to submit an abstract.

Abstracts are assessed by the convener and/or executive Committee / panel of consultant surgeons using the criteria of assessment.

Each judge will score each of these criteria from 1 (poor) -5 (excellent)

- 1. Clarity of background, presentation and development of the scientific argument/ research question
- 2. Quality of the content
- 3. Current or probable future relevance to clinical practice
- 4. Strength of the science
- 5. Adherence to length of abstract (300 words)

Background

The RP Jepson Medal is in honour of Professor R.P. Jepson, a distinguished vascular surgeon and an important figure in the history of the University of Adelaide Medical School.

Professor R.P. Jepson MCChB,, BSc,, FRCS (Eng), FRACS, (1918-1980.)

Richard Pomfret Jepson was born in Accrington, a cotton and market town some 50 km from Manchester. He studied Medicine at the Manchester University and graduated in 1941. After graduation, his first appointment was as house surgeon to Sir Geoffrey Jefferson at the Manchester Royal Infirmary. He joined the Royal Army Medical Corps and received basic neurosurgical training from Sir Hugh Cairns and he became a member of the No. 5 Neurosurgical Unit serving in North Africa and Italy.

After the war he returned to Manchester to Professor Boyd's surgical department, first as a tutor in 1947, a year later as a lecturer and a reader in 1951. He became noted for his surgical expertise and his research on Raynaud's syndrome, the effects of vibrating tools and other physical or chemical stimuli on the peripheral circulation. He began to regularly publish his work and continued to publish throughout his career.

In 1958 he accepted the appointment as the Foundation Professor in Surgery at the University of Adelaide in South Australia.

The newly built Queen Elizabeth Hospital (TQEH) was his first base. His research resulted in the first Australian renal transplant from a living donor.

Authorised By:	South Australian State Committee	Original Issue:	August 2009
Document Owner:	South Australia State Office Manager	Version:	5
		Approval	April 2023
		Date:	
Page 1 of 2		Review Date:	April 2026

He then moved to the Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH) and served as Dean of the Faculty of Medicine for two years. He resigned as Chair after 10 years but continued to serve the RAH as a senior visiting vascular surgeon until 1976.

As he had in Britain, he participated in the formation of the Surgical Research Society of Australasia. The founding members were the seven Professors of Surgery from Australia and New Zealand. R.P. Jepson was the Society's first President.

3.1. Eligibility

The medal is open to

- A Medical student attending a Medical School in South Australia.
- A Junior Doctor, intern or Service Registrar and or Medical Officer
- A trainee actively participating in the SET program (including interrupted training for the purpose of undertaking research)
- An SIMG on a pathway to Fellowship or
- A Fellow who has obtained their FRACS within the last two years

The **scientific research / lab based work** that forms the basis of the paper must have been undertaken in South Australia by the applicant in the last 12 months.

3.2. Awarding of the Medal

- 3.2.1. Three judges are appointed by the South Australian State Committee.
- 3.2.2. Each paper is rated from 1 to 5 on the following:
 - Presentation skills
 - Use of Audio-Visual Equipment
 - Research Content
 - Clinical Relevance
 - Originality
- 3.2.3. A unanimous decision is to be reached for the medal to be awarded.
- 3.2.4. Should it be deemed that none of the presented papers were of a standard worthy of the medal, it is then not awarded.
- 3.2.5. The winner is announced at the RACS SA Annual Dinner usually held on the evening of the papers day. All presenters will be required to attend the dinner for the winner to be announced.
- 3.2.6. The winner will also be required to present again at the RACS SA, NT and WA Annual Scientific Meeting when the conference is held in South Australia.

4. ASSOCIATED DOCUMENTS

Procedure – RP Jepson Medal and Justin Miller Prize

Authorised By:	South Australian State Committee	Original Issue:	August 2009
Document Owner:	South Australia State Office Manager	Version:	5
		Approval	April 2023
		Date:	
Page 2 of 2		Review Date:	April 2026