Division	Fellowship Engagement	Ref. No.	POL-3064
Department	SA State Office		
Title	Justin Miller Medal		

1. PURPOSE AND SCOPE

The policy details the awarding of the Justin Miller Medal.

2. KEYWORDS

Justin Miller, Medal, Annual Scientific Meeting (ASM).

3. BODY OF POLICY

The Justin Miller Medal is presented during the SA, NT & WA Annual Scientific Meeting or during a paper's day held at the College in SA if the ASM is not held in South Australia. The recipient receives a medal engraved with his/her name and year of the award.

Presenters must be prepared to travel to Western Australia or Northern Territory, should the meeting be held outside of South Australia.

The recipient receives a medal engraved with his/her name and year of the award.

Call for Abstracts are circulated to the entire South Australian Fellowship encouraging presenters who fulfil the eligibility criteria to submit an abstract.

Abstracts are assessed by the convener and/or executive Committee / panel of consultant surgeons using the criteria of assessment.

Each judge will score each of these criteria from 1 (poor) -5 (excellent)

- 1. Clarity of background, presentation and development of the scientific argument/ research question
- 2. Quality of the content
- 3. Current or probable future relevance to clinical practice
- 4. Strength of the science
- 5. Adherence to length of abstract (300 words)

3.1. Background

The Justin Miller Medal is in honour of Dr Justin Miller, a distinguished vascular surgeon, who came to occupy a prominent place in the South Australian surgical hierarchy. He was a clinical lecturer of Adelaide and Flinders Universities, consultant to the Royal Adelaide Hospital, Repatriation Hospital, Modbury, Lyell McEwin and the Adelaide Children's Hospital.

He was born in Renmark in 1924 and graduated MBBS from the University of Adelaide in 1953. He went to the UK to study and achieved FRCS (Edinburgh)He returned to Adelaide in 1963 and became a Senior Registrar to Professor RP Jepson commencing his long career at the RAH. He also achieved Fellowship of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons and the American College of Surgeons. He was Honorary Assistant Vascular Surgeon at the Royal Adelaide Hospital from 1969 to 1986, and he succeeded RP Jepson to Honorary Vascular Surgeon until 1990. It was his energy which, in 1983, prompted the formation of a local Australian and New Zealand Chapter of the International Society of Cardiovascular Surgeons, thereby bringing the group onto the international scene.

3.2. Eligibility

The medal is open to

- A Medical student attending a Medical School in South Australia
- A Junior Doctor, intern or Service Registrar and or Medical Officer
- A trainee actively participating in the SET program (including interrupted

Authorised By:	South Australian State Committee	Original Issue:	August 2009	
Document Owner:	South Australia State Manager	Version:	5	
		Approval	April 2023	
		Date:		
Page 1 of 2		Review Date:	April 2026	

- training for the purpose of undertaking clinical research)
- An IMG on a pathway to Fellowship or
- A Fellow who has obtained their FRACS with the last two years

The **clinical research** work that forms the basis of the paper must have been undertaken in South Australia by the applicant in the last 12 months.

3.3. Objectives and criteria

- 3.3.1 Three Judges are appointed by the South Australian State Committee.
- 3.3.2 Each paper is rated from 1 to 5 on the following:
 - Presentation skills
 - Use of Audio Visual Equipment
 - Research Content
 - Originality
 - Clinical Relevance
- 3.3.3 A unanimous decision is to be reached for the medal to be awarded.
- 3.3.4 The award will be made only if the presented paper is of a standard worthy of the medal.
- 3.3.5 The winner is announced at the RACS SA Annual Dinner usually held on the evening of the papers day. All presenters will be required to attend the dinner for the winner to be announced.
- 3.3.6 The winner will also be required to present again at the RACS SA, NT and WA Annual Scientific Meeting when the conference is held in South Australia.

4. ASSOCIATED DOCUMENTS

Procedure – RP Jepson Medal and Justin Miller Medal

Authorised By:	South Australian State Committee	Original Issue:	August 2009
Document Owner:	South Australia State Manager	Version:	5
		Approval Date:	April 2023
Page 2 of 2		Review Date:	April 2026