Advocacy Board


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


The Advocacy Board was formed in June 2018 merging together the Board of Regional Chairs (BoRC) and the Governance and Advocacy Committee (GAC). The governance aspects were removed in recognition that these are best dealt with by Council.

The Advocacy Board has been established to:

  • ensure that Council receives timely information and high level advice from the STANZ Committees and Specialty Societies on regional issues relevant to the College's strategic priorities policy development and policy implementation

  • receive information from Council and other RACS committees/departments that can then be disseminated to the Regional Committees and Specialty Societies

  • advise on the College's activities to help meet the requirements of the Fellows, Trainees and International Medical Graduates (IMGs) of the College and address key strategic issues in the Fellowship.

  • advise Council on key current and strategic issues that may impact on the surgical workforce, informed by activities of the regional health jurisdictions

  • provide a forum to share knowledge and skills collectively amongst the Chairs of the STANZ Committees and Specialty Society representatives

  • provide support to Chairs and Specialty Society representatives in discharging their duties

  • To develop a program of relevant public policy advocacy through the identification of issues and the elaboration of an advocacy strategy.

  • To make recommendations to Council regarding advocacy matters.

The Advocacy Board terms of reference can be found at Advocacy Board Terms of Reference

Board members

Mr Richard Perry, Chair, Advocacy Board and College Vice President
Professor David Fletcher, Deputy Chair
Dr Ailene Fitzgerald, Chair ACT
A/Prof Andrew MacCormick, Chair, Younger Fellows Committee
Mr Brian McGowan, Chair QLD
Mr David Penn, Chair, TAS
Mr Garry Wilson, Expert Community Adviser NZ
Mr Ken Loi, Chair NSW
Mr Mahiban Thomas, Chair NT
Dr Nicola Hill, Chair NZ
Dr Sally Langley, Chair, PDSB
Dr Sally Butchers, Chair RSS
Mr Philip Worley, Chair SA
Mr Stephen Rodrigues, Chair WA
Ms Susan Shedda, Chair VIC
A/Prof Phillip Carson, College Censor in Chief [CIC]


Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
250-290 Spring Street
East Melbourne VIC 3002 Australia

Telephone: +61 3 9276 7429