Surgical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Committee


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


The Surgical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy (SGE) Committee was established in September 2016.

Surgeons as endoscopists engage with a diverse range of stakeholders. To ensure collaboration at all levels and with all agencies, a consistent reference point for this engagement is required. The formation of this Committee addresses the need to provide central co-ordination for matters relating to surgical gastrointestinal endoscopy in Australia and New Zealand.

The broad objectives of the Committee are to:

  • Develop gastrointestinal endoscopy standards of practice.
  • Provide advice to RACS Training Boards and external organisations involved with gastrointestinal endoscopy training on standards of education and training of endoscopists.
  • Establish a competency based recertification model for surgical gastrointestinal endoscopy in Australia and New Zealand.
  • Provide oversight of service delivery standards in Australia and New Zealand.
  • Advocate for improved outcomes regarding access to training for SET trainees and International Medical Graduates, in bowel cancer screening and other issues relating to surgical gastrointestinal endoscopy.
  • Provide reference and support for surgeon representatives on colonoscopy and bowel cancer screening related organisations and agencies.

The Committee aims to promote communication across all stakeholders, with the aim of building relationships and increasing credibility and transparency. This importance of strong collaboration with the Surgical Societies and with GESA in particular is recognised.

The SGE Committee reports to the Education Board and is governed by the SGE Committee Terms of Reference (PDF 40KB).


Mr Richard Perry, Chair
Mr Brian Kirkby, Board in General Surgery (Australia) Representative
Dr Marianne Lill, General Surgery (New Zealand) Representative
Professor Mark Stringer, Paediatric Surgery Representative
Mr Greg Makin, Colorectal Surgery Representative
Dr Melinda Van Oosterum, Rural Surgery Representative (and CCRTGE)
Professor Neil Merrett, Upper GI Representative (and ERCP)
Mr Michael Donovan, Co-opted Member (General Surgery Australia Representative)
Mr Iain Skinner, Co-opted Member (CCRTGE)
Associate Professor Ben Thomson, Co-opted Member (CCRTGE)
Mr Mike Hulme-Moir, Co-opted Member (EGGNZ)


Executive Officer
Surgical Gastrointestinal Endoscopy Committee

Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
250-290 Spring Street
East Melbourne VIC 3002
Telephone: +61 3 9249 1243