Living in Australia or New Zealand


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.



Introduction to Australia

The Australian Capital Territory is the location of Australia's capital city, Canberra. Australia's other states and territories are:

  • New South Wales
  • Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • South Australia
  • Tasmania
  • Victoria
  • Western Australia


In April 2016 Australia's population was 24 million people. The most highly populated states are New South Wales and Victoria, with their respective capitals Sydney and Melbourne.


Australia is the world's sixth largest country although the majority of the population is located in the major coastal cities and towns.  Australia is one of the most urbanised and coast-dwelling populations in the world. More than 80 per cent of Australians live within 100 kilometres of the coast.


Northern Australia enjoys a tropical climate with warmer temperatures throughout the year and distinct wet and dry seasons. Southern Australia tends to be more temperate with four seasons ranging from winter to summer. Although winter in Australia does bring cooler weather, there are rarely sub-zero temperatures and snowfall is extremely rare anywhere except the higher mountains of southern New South Wales, Victoria and Tasmania. Summer can also bring extreme heat, with temperatures sometimes topping 40 degrees Celsius.

For more information see the Australian Government Department of Health Doctor Connect website.

Introduction to New Zealand

New Zealand is an island nation comprised of two main land masses, the North Island and the South Island. The capital city, Wellington, is location on the lower North Island. 


For up to date population statistics, refer to Statistics New Zealand


New Zealand is an archipelago of over 700 islands. The largest of these are the North Island (113,729 sq km) and the South Island (150,437 sq km). 


The climate in New Zealand is complex as it varies from warm subtropical in the far north to cool temperate climates in the far south, with severe alpine conditions in mountainous areas.