Trainees' Association (RACSTA)


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


RACSTA LOGOThe Royal Australasian College of Surgeons Trainees' Association (RACSTA) represents Trainees' interests within RACS. Surgical training is a challenging and rewarding time, and RACSTA is here to make your journey as enjoyable and as productive as possible. RACSTA includes representatives from all specialties, providing input at all levels from regional boards to RACS Council. In this way, RACSTA strongly advocates for Trainee issues in RACS processes and policy. RACSTA welcomes your views, so please contact your specialty or local regional representatives via email. Your contributions are vital and appreciated.

RACSTA End-of-Term Survey

Since 2010, all Trainees have been invited to participate in surveys at the end of each six month rotation. The survey addresses various aspects of the completed rotation. The results of each individual survey have been analysed within RACS and the distribution of results has been restricted to ensure confidentiality of the respondents.

The first five years' worth of surveys have now been aggregated and prepared into a consolidated report. This report is now available for all Trainees to read (PDF 603KB, Members only - login required). Speciality specific reports will be released in due course.

RACSTA 2018-2 New Zealand Trainees Survey Opening Soon

All current New Zealand RACS trainees will be sent the RACSTA Term Evaluation Questionnaire for Rotation 2 - 2018 Survey.

Data from this survey is analysed and used to inform the Surgery Specialty Training Boards about matters including education and training satisfaction, flexible training availability and acceptance, bullying and harassment and industrial relations issues.

The strength of this information is determined by participation.

Look out for survey emails, take 10 minutes to participate and make your voice heard!

If you have any questions or comments regarding the report, please send them to

John Corboy Medal

Dr John Corboy (1969-2007) was elected chair of the RACS Trainees' Association in 2007. He was a great leader and a selfless representative of RACS Trainees. He generously gave his peers his time and wisdom. His energetic service to the profession and his tenacious passion for surgery despite personal adversity was remarkable.

This distinguished award for surgical Trainees commemorates Dr John Corboy's achievements and recognises exceptional service by other Trainees. The John Corboy Medal is awarded annually to a Trainee who demonstrates the characteristics for which John was admired.

The award is made to a candidate who shows some or all of the following qualities:

  • Outstanding leadership
  • Selfless service
  • Tenacity
  • Service to trainees of the College

These qualities must be demonstrated in either the performance of his or her duties, service to the surgical community, the manner of and approach to the fulfilment of their surgical training and/or by their commitment to and involvement with the community of surgical Trainees.

John Corboy Medal Nominations

Nominations for the 2020 John Corboy Medal will open in July 2019.

  • At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be a current RACS Trainee.
  • Nominations may be made by a Fellow or another Trainee.
  • For a nomination form email

The winner of the  Medal will:

  • Be formally presented with the Medal at the 2019 RACS Annual Scientific Conference (ASC).
  • Be listed on an Honour Board housed in the RACS Melbourne Office.
  • Be listed in the Distinguished Award Recipients section of the RACS website.
  • Receive complimentary registration to the ASC.

 Winners will be notified once the selection process is complete and a formal announcement will be made shortly after.

RACSTA Involvement

RACSTA has representation on the following RACS Boards and Committees and is reguarly asked to comment on matters affecting Trainees. 



Executive Committee

Chair: Rachel Care
Education Portfolio: Philip Chia
Training Portfolio: Benjamin Chan
Support and Advocacy Portfolio: Andrew Sanders
Communications Portfolio: Leigh Archer
Immediate Past Chair: Ruth Mitchell

State Representatives

New Zealand: Heath Lash
New South Wales: David Coker
Queensland: Damian Fry
Victoria: Nicholas Low
Tasmania: Mina Asaid
Western Australia: Adam Philipoff
Australian Capital Territory: Krishanth Naidu
South Australia / Northern Territory: Robert McCusker

Speciality Representatives

Cardiothoracic Surgery: Charles Jenkinson
General Surgery (Australia): Roderick McMurray
General Surgery (New Zealand): Suheelan Kulasegaran
Neurosurgery: Alistair Jukes
Orthopaedic Surgery (Australia): Brett Moreira
Orthopaedic Surgery (New Zealand): David Lees
Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (Australia): Olivia Ruskin
Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery (New Zealand): Henry Emanuel
Paediatric Surgery: Aneetha Pasupati
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (Australia): Nathan Schaffer
Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery (New Zealand): Blair York
Urology: James Churchill
Vascular Surgery: Samantha Khoo

Election via Application Positions (Co-opted)

Matilda Anderson
Imogen Ibbett
Danielle Nizzero


Contact Board representatives at or phone Karen Gordon-Clark on +61 3 9249 1212