Learn more about Academic Surgery


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


Learn more about Academic Surgery

The Section of Academic Surgery (SAS) was formed in 2002 and now has more than 270 members throughout Australia and New Zealand. The overall goal is to promote academic surgery and to develop the scholar/teacher professional competency. The Section also provides an increasingly important link between the College and university departments of surgery.

Objectives for the Section of Academic Surgery

  • To develop and monitor standards in academic surgical departments in Australia and New Zealand.
  • To enhance career pathways in academic surgery and to encourage younger surgeons to pursue opportunities in academic surgery.
  • To develop an Australasian curriculum for undergraduate surgery, which could be utilized to provide advice to Australian and New Zealand medical schools regarding appropriate surgical content, and which is appropriate for continuation to surgical education and training.
  • To advise Council on professional and policy issues related to academic surgery, as well as issues of relevance to surgery in general.
  • To respond to requests from Council for consideration of relevant issues.
  • To establish and maintain a registry of academically active members in order to support the Section's activities and plan appropriate workforce issues.

Definition of an Academic Surgeon

An academic surgeon is a leader who has chosen:

  • to acquire specific training and experience in research and/or education, and
  • to make these dimensions a significant part of their career

Functional Relationships

Through linkages within the College and through representation on the Executive Committee, the Section of Academic Surgery has functional relationships with the:

 Links to all University Medical Schools

Association of Academic Surgery

One of the missions of the Association of Academic Surgeons (AAS) is to promote academic surgery around the world. Through the generous support of Johnson & Johnson Medical, it has been possible to have AAS visitors to the DCAS course, the Younger Fellows Forum, the Annual Scientific Congress, and to several centres around Australia and New Zealand. The AAS invites the winner of the SRS Young Investigator Award to give their winning presentation at the AAS/SUS Academic Surgical Congress.
For information on USA courses, visit the Association for Academic Surgery website and select Fall Courses.

Society of University Surgeons

Through generous support from Covidien as the Foundation Sponsors of Academic Surgery, the Surgical Research Society annually exchanges visitors with the Society of University Surgeons (SUS) based in the United States. A senior SUS academic surgeon attends the November academic meetings, and an SRS nominee is hosted at the AAS/SUS Academic Surgical Congress.

Medical Students

A number of Surgical Interest Groups have developed in Schools of Medicine and these are being linked by the Australian Students' Surgical Association (ASSA). The Australian Medical Students Association and New Zealand Medical Students Association have been invited to nominate one person to represent them on the Committee. Fifteen complimentary registrations are provided annually to the DCAS course.

Funding for research

For RACS Scholarship opportunities
A guide to external funding opportunities


After the 2018 Annual Business Meeting of the SAS, the following Committee was endorsed:


Professor Mark Smithers

Vice Chair

Professor Marc Gladman, Chair, Surgical Research Society of Australasia SRS


Professor Chris Christophi
Mr Richard Hanney
Professor Jeff Hamdorf
Professor Paul Bannon
Professor Wendy Brown
A/Professor Greg O'Grady
Developing a Career in Academic Surgery (DCAS) Representative: A/Professor Jonathan Karpelowsky
Clinical Academic Pathways Working Party Representative: Professor Julian Smith
Chair, ANZ Scholarship and Grant Committee: Mr Chris Perry
Younger Fellows Representative: Mr James Lee
Trainees Association (RACSTA) Representative: Dr Thomas Arthur
Chair, Research and Academic Surgery: Professor Andrew Hill
Surgical Director of Research and Evaluation: Professor Guy Maddern
Clinical Trials Network Representative: Professor John Windsor
Board of Surgical Education and Training (BSET) Representative: Mr Adrian Anthony
Chair, Academy of Surgical Educators: Dr Sally Langley
Editor-in-Chief ANZJS ex-officio: Professor John Harris
Medical Student Representative: Mr Cameron Wellsback to top