Foundation for Surgery Research Scholarship


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


Foundation for Surgery Research Scholarship 2019

This scholarship is intended to support RACS Trainees and Fellows who wish to take time away from clinical positions to undertake a research project under the supervision of an experienced investigator.

Note: Research departments will be expected to provide 25% of the value of this scholarship

Catherine Marie Enright Kelly Memorial Research Scholarship 2019

This scholarship was established from a bequest of the late T D Kelly, FRACS, of South Australia, and was first awarded in 1987.

Reg Worcester Research Scholarship 2019

A gift by the late Alan Worcester, FRACS, to memorialise his brother, Reg, a great educator, doctor and humanitarian resulted in this scholarship. It is to be awarded to undertake research preferably with a relevance to the surgical care of patients.

Who can apply?

These three scholarships are open to RACS Fellows and SET Trainees. SET applicants are also eligible to apply in anticipation of their acceptance into the SET Program. They must be accepted into the program prior to the commencement of the scholarship in order to take up the award.


Applicants must be enrolled in or intending to enrol in a higher degree.

Please make sure you go to the Scholarships Policies web page to read the full Conditions contained in the specific policy for these awards before applying. It is essential that you read the Important General Conditions (PDF 80KB) to ensure your eligibility.


Each scholarship is valued at $66,000 ($60,000 stipend plus $6,000 departmental maintenance).


Each scholarship is for one year


Download the Research application form (PDF 632KB). Email the completed application to by the closing date.

Closing Date for Applications

Midnight ACST Thursday 26 April 2018

Applicants will be notified of outcome in early August 2018

No late applications will be accepted.

More Information

The following articles feature previous recipients of these scholarships, as reproduced from Surgical News:

Ruth Mitchell, 2015 recipient, August 2017 edition (PDF 227KB)
David Liu, 2013 recipient, June 2017 edition (PDF 277KB)
Anthony Glover, 2015 recipient, April 2017 edition (PDF 173KB)
Rana Dhillon, 2014 recipient, Nov/Dec 2016 (PDF 273KB)
Anannya Chakrabarti, 2013 recipient, September 2016 (PDF 268KB)
Anannya Chakrabarti, 2012 recipient, September 2016 (PDF 268KB)
Simon Tsao, 2014 recipient, July 2015 edition (PDF 206KB)
Anannya Chakrabarti, 2014 recipient, Jan/Feb 2015 edition (PDF 271KB)
Anthony Glover, 2014 recipient, Jan/Feb 2015 edition (PDF 271KB)
David Liu, 2014 recipient, Jan/Feb 2015 edition (PDF 271KB)
Alexander Cameron, 2013 recipient, Jan/Feb 2012 edition (PDF 439KB)
Iwan Bennett, 2013 recipient, April 2014 edition (PDF 708KB)
Penelope De Lacavalerie, 2013 recipient, March 2013 edition (PDF 330KB)
Christopher Delaney, 2012 recipient, Nov/Dec 2013 edition (PDF 330KB)
Lisa Brown, 2012 recipient, September 2013 edition (PDF 605KB)
Benjamin Dixon, 2012 recipient, August 2013 edition (PDF 809KB)
Alice Guidera, 2012 recipient, July 2013 edition (PDF 582KB)
Anand Segar, 2012 recipient, April 2013 edition (PDF 330KB)
Simon Liubinas, 2010 and 2013 recipient, July 2012 edition (PDF 685KB)

Matthew Hong, 2010 and 2011 recipient, May 2012 edition (PDF 437KB)
Henry To, 2010 and 2011 recipient, Sep 2011 edition (PDF 457KB)
Zoe Wainer, 2009 recipient, March 2011 edition (PDF 448KB). Also read a 
media release December 2010 (PDF 77KB) regarding her research.


ANZ Scholarship & Grant Coordinator
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
199 Ward Street
North Adelaide SA 5006 Australia

Telephone: +61 8 8219 0900
Fax: +61 8 8219 0999