John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship


Find a surgeon

The Find a Surgeon directory is a listing of active Fellows of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons who meet the requirements of the College's Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Program and have opted to be on the list. This list excludes retired or inactive Fellows.


John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship 2020

The John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship is the most prestigious RACS award. It was established in 1978 by the late Mrs Elisabeth Unsworth in honour of her son, John Mitchell Crouch, who died in 1977 at age 36, in the hope that recipients would contribute to the understanding and practice of surgery in keeping with the skills and promise demonstrated by her son. The Fellowship was first awarded in 1979.

2019 Recipient - Associate Professor Antonio Di Ieva

The John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship for 2019 was received by Associate Professor Antonio Di Ieva.

A/Professor Di Ieva is an academic neurosurgeon, an Associate Professor of Neuroanatomy and Neurosurgery and a clinical and computational neuroscientist at Macquarie University (Sydney). He has been a staff consultant and/or a clinical/research Fellow in Italy, Austria, Canada and Australia and will use this Fellowship to establish the first "Computational Neurosurgery Lab", aimed to use to use Artificial Intelligence and fractal-based computational modelling to characterise "fingerprints" of brain tumours and other diseases of neurosurgical interest. He aims to use Artificial Intelligence to help clinicians and surgeons with differential diagnosis and decision-making, reducing errors in judgement, with the final goal of improving patients' treatment and outcome.

Who can apply?

Applicants must be a RACS Fellow, residing in Australia or New Zealand, with their RACS Fellowship or comparable overseas qualification obtained within the past 15 years (2004 or later).


The John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship is awarded to an individual who is making an outstanding contribution to the advancement of surgery or to fundamental scientific research in the field in which they are now actively working.  The Fellowship must be used to assist continuation of this work.

Applications will be asked to include the following information on their application form:

  • A brief statement about current research work and future plans, including a detailed proposal on how the applicant would use the funds from the John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship if they are successful.
  • A detailed CV
  • A list of what the applicant considers to be their five most important publications. Important publications must state impact factors and the impact range for their speciality.
  • A list of up to five of the most important national or international lectures they have been invited to deliver.

The successful applicant is expected to attend the Convocation ceremony at the RACS Annual Scientific Congress (ASC) in May in the year of Fellowship for a formal presentation. In 2020 this will be in Melbourne. The Fellowship recipient must also be prepared to make a 20 to 25 minute oral presentation at the ASC on their research work including the contribution arising from the award.

Please read the John Mitchell Crouch policy and the Important General Conditions page before applying to ensure eligibility.




One year


Download the John Mitchell Crouch application form (PDF230KB).

Email completed application to

A new application must be made for each year of application.

Closing Date for Applications

Midnight ACST Monday 15 April 2019

Applicants will be notified of outcome in early August 2019

More Information

  • Rarely does one person's decision have such a profoundly positive impact on so many people as that made by Mrs Elisabeth Unsworth when she chose to fund an annual RACS Fellowship in memory of her son, as described in this article (PDF 1.56MB) which was published in RACS Surgical News in July 2006. 
  • For information on how the John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship has had an enormous influence on RACS by creating a milieu where scientific research is highly regarded please read the article (PDF 1.13MB) as published in RACS Surgical News in January/February 2009.

The following articles feature previous recipients of this scholarship, as reproduced from Surgical News:

Andrew Barbour, 2017 recipient, Jan/Feb 2019 edition (PDF 184KB)

Alexander Heriot, 2016 recipient, Jan/Feb 2017 edition (PDF 156KB)

Zsolt Balogh, 2015 recipient, Jan/Feb 2016 edition (PDF 185KB)

Andrew Hill, 2014 recipient, April 2015 edition (PDF 115KB), September 2014 edition, (PDF 1.09 MB)

Russell Gruen, 2013 recipient, March 2014 edition (PDF 585KB),  May 2014 edition (PDF 576KB)

Marcus Stoodley, 2012 recipient, March 2013 edition (PDF 330KB)

David Little, 2011 recipient, April 2012 edition (PDF 437KB)

Damien Bolton, 2010 recipient, April 2011 edition (PDF 457KB),  September 2014 edition (PDF 1112KB)

Stephen O'Leary, 2009 recipient, September 2013 edition (PDF 510KB)


ANZ Scholarship & Grant Coordinator
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
199 Ward Street
North Adelaide SA 5006 Australia

Telephone: +61 8 8219 0924