• Who can apply?

    Applications for 2022 activity are now closed.

    To be eligible for this Fellowship, you need to:

    - be a RACS Fellow
    - have obtained your Fellowship (or comparable overseas qualification) within the past 15 years.

    Please note, previous recipients and FRACS applicants are ineligible for this Fellowship.

  • Value
  • Activity
    The Fellowship supports the recipient to continue in their efforts in the advancement of surgery or in fundamental scientific research.
  • Selection

    Selection is assessed via your written application.

    The selection panel is comprised of all members of the ANZ Scholarship and Grant Committee.

  • Recipient obligations

    A project report (800-1000 words, of publishable quality) is required at the end of the Fellowship year.

    The recipient is expected to attend a formal presentation at the RACS Annual Scientific Congress (ASC) Convocation ceremony in May in the year of Fellowship. The recipient must also be prepared to make a 20 minute oral presentation at the ASC on their research work, including the contribution arising from the Fellowship.

  • Payment
    This Fellowship will be paid to the administering institution upon receipt of a valid tax invoice as requested by the Scholarships and Grants department. Payment will be made in one instalment prior to 1 March in the scholarship year.
  • To apply

    Before applying, please read:

    - general information on the Scholarships and Grants Program 
    - program conditions and recipient obligations 
    - conditions specific to this opportunity as stated on this page.

  • 2019 John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship recipient - Antonio Di Ieva

    The John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship for 2019 was received by Associate Professor Antonio Di Ieva.

    Associate Professor Di Ieva is an academic neurosurgeon, an Associate Professor of Neuroanatomy and Neurosurgery and a clinical and computational neuroscientist at Macquarie University (Sydney). He has been a staff consultant and/or a clinical/research Fellow in Italy, Austria, Canada and Australia.

    Associate Professor Di Ieva will use this Fellowship to establish the first "Computational Neurosurgery Lab", aimed to use to use artificial intelligence and fractal-based computational modelling to characterise "fingerprints" of brain tumours and other diseases of neurosurgical interest. He aims to use artificial intelligence to help clinicians and surgeons with differential diagnosis and decision-making, reducing errors in judgement, with the final goal of improving patients' treatment and outcome.

  • More information

    - The John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship book (PDF 3.26MB) has a profile of each recipient between 1979 and 2014. This book is updated approximately every five years.

    - You can view a list of all recipients of this award from 1979 until 2018 on the John Mitchell Crouch Recipients List (PDF 62.53KB).

    - Rarely does one person's decision have such a profoundly positive impact on so many people as that made by Mrs Elisabeth Unsworth when she chose to fund an annual RACS Fellowship in memory of her son, as described in this article (PDF 1.56MB) which was published in RACS Surgical News in July 2006. 

    - RACS recently published a review article in the ANZ Journal of Surgery entitled "Looking back at the John Mitchell Crouch Fellowship: the most prestigious research award of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons" (PDF 117.14KB)

    The following Surgical News articles feature previous recipients of this scholarship:

    Alexander Heriot (PDF 134.78KB), 2016 recipient, Jan/Feb 2017 edition
    Zsolt Balogh (PDF 180.7KB), 2015 recipient, Jan/Feb 2016 edition

  • Contact
    Scholarships and grants department
    Telephone: +61 8 8219 0924
    Email: scholarships@surgeons.org