Accreditation improvement project

RACS is currently undertaking a quality improvement project to review the accreditation standards and the process of accreditation.

The new standards will be piloted in a small number of hospitals before being rolled out across Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand. Hospitals can express their interest to take part in the pilot of the new accreditation process. Hospitals will be able to feedback on their experience and help shape how RACS conducts accreditation in the future.

If you would like to be kept up to date with project progress, or if you would like your hospital to be considered to take part in the pilot in 2022, please email

Accreditation of hospital training posts

Trainees progress through an integrated program that provides them with increasing professional responsibility under appropriate supervision. RACS approves training posts that enable Trainees to acquire the needed competencies to become consultant surgeons who are able to practise independently or as part of a multidisciplinary team.

Applying for accreditation

RACS accredits individual training posts in nine surgical specialties, with each specialty determining the accreditation standards that training posts must meet.

The table below indicates which organisation is responsible for supporting the accreditation process. Please follow the links below to obtain the standards and application form required.

Specialty Australia New Zealand
Cardiothoracic Surgery  RACS (see below) RACS (see below)
General Surgery  General Surgeons Australia  New Zealand Association of General Surgeons
Neurosurgery  Neurosurgical Society of Australasia  Neurosurgical Society of Australasia
Orthopaedic Surgery  Australian Orthopaedics Association  New Zealand Orthopaedics Association
Otolaryngology Head & Neck Surgery  Australian Society of Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery  RACS (see below)
Paediatric Surgery RACS (see below) RACS (see below)
Plastic & Reconstructive Surgery  Australian Society of Plastic Surgeons RACS (see below)
Urology  Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand  Urological Society of Australia and New Zealand
Vascular Surgery  ANZSVS  ANZSVS


RACS accreditation standards

For hospital posts supported by RACS, the RACS accreditation standards can be found in the Accreditation of Hospitals and Posts for Surgical Education and Training booklet (PDF 345.22KB). The current version of the booklet was released in June 2016.

The Application for accreditation form (PDF 132.31KB) can be downloaded for all RACS supported posts.

 Accreditation of all posts must comply with the RACS Training Post Accreditation and Administration policy. (PDF 57.1KB)

 Read the FAQs about post accreditation.


SET Program Coordinator
Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
250-290 Spring Street
East Melbourne VIC 3002
Telephone: +61 3 9249 1114