The RACS Queensland State Conference combined with the Surgical Directors Leadership Forum was held on the Gold Coast from 12-14 July 2019. There were a number of highlights across the three days, some of which are captured in the photos below.


Dr Barry O'Loughlin delivering the David Thiele lecture

Clinical Committee Prize (an award for obtaining the highest marks in the Clinical Examination) is awarded to Dr Matthew Cheng by Dr Deborah Bailey

Gordon-Taylor Prize (complemented by the Clinical Committee Prize; a bronze medal, awarded for gaining the highest marks in the Generic Surgical Sciences Examination) awarded to Dr William McSweeney

Queensland RACS Papers Prize (best paper by a Queensland Medical Student or Intern) awarded to Dr Andrew Morton by RACS VP Dr Richard Perry, thanking sponsor Walshs Financial Planning

Neville Davis Prize (best paper by a Queensland College Trainee or Principal House Officer (PHO)) awarded to Dr Aaditya Narendra, thanking sponsor Avant

Outstanding Services Award is presented to Dr Fred Leditschke by Dr Matthew Hope in recognition of Dr Leditschke's service as a retiring board/committee member

Honoured Guest Dr Neil Wetzig and his wife Gwen Wetzig