On this page


For over 80 years, RACS has been recognised as the authoritative body for standards and training in surgical practice in Australia and Aotearoa New Zealand. Accreditation is given by the Australian Medical Council, on behalf of the Medical Board of Australia, and the Medical Council of New Zealand to conduct training and education of surgeons in each of the nine surgical specialties: Cardiothoracic Surgery, General Surgery, Neurosurgery, Orthopaedic Surgery, Otolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery, Paediatric Surgery, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery, Urology, and Vascular Surgery. 

General eligibility

Applicants must meet the following eligibility criteria:

  • Permanent residency or citizenship status of Australia or Aotearoa New Zealand
  • General (unconditional) registration in Australia or general scope or restricted general scope registration in the relevant specialty in Aotearoa New Zealand
  • Successful completion of the RACS specific Hand Hygiene Australia Module
  • Completion of the RACS Operating with Respect eModule.

More information

The SET Program

SET selection requirements, process, and application