On this page

The Neville Davis Prize was established in 1983 through the Queensland State Committee, and named after Dr Neville Coleman Davis AO, FRACS.  Dr Neville Davis was a Surgical Supervisor at Brisbane General Hospital 1952-1956, and Co-ordinator, Post Graduate Surgical Education 1980-1986 at the Princess Alexandra Hospital, Brisbane. He is the author of 90 scientific articles on malignant Melanoma, Colorectal Cancer, Wound Infection, Intestinal Obstruction and Burns.  His personal standards for writing and research, as well as his views and influence in surgical education have contributed towards raising the standard of medical articles and presentations within the College.

The award is for the best paper presented at the Queensland State Committee's Annual State Meeting. The award is in the form of a certificate and a $2,500 cheque for the amount. At the discretion of the Convener and confirmed by the Executive of the Queensland State Committee and with funds available, a second prize of $500.

The applicants must be an active College Trainee in Queensland. The applicants can also be a Principal House Officer (PHO) working in a surgical unit at a Queensland public hospital.

Award recipients

2022 - Dr David Sparks - "Long bone defect reconstruction using a scaffold-guided approach and corticoperiosteal tissue transfer"
2021 - Dr Al-Rahim Habib - "An artificial intelligence algorithm to classify ear disease in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children in rural and remote Queensland"
2020 - Dr Rachel Colbran + Jacques Eastment - "The effect of transvaginal prolapse surgery on anorectal function" and "Single versus dual en bloc kidney transplants from small paediatric"
2019 - Dr Aaditya Narendra - "Assessing the impact of hospital - Volume and service capability on post-operative mortality following complex upper gastrointestinal cancer surgery"
2018 - Dr Alex Nesbitt – “Diagnosis and management of prostate cancer in Indigenous Australian in far North Queensland”
2017 - Dr Sarah Emmett - "Sexual Behaviours of Patients with Human Papillomavirus Positive Head and Neck Cancer" 

2016 - Dr Shinichiro Sakata - "Measurement Bias of Polyp Size at Colonoscopy"
2015 - Dr Peter Yuide - "Increased CFTR mRNA Expression associated with Improved Prognosis in Colorectal Cancer"
2014 - Dr Peter Gifford - "The Tibiofibular Line; An Anatomical feature to Diagnose Syndesmosis Malposition"
2013 - Dr Ali Kalhor - "Innovative Treatment With Inducible Nitric Oxide Synthase Inhibitor to Prevent Osteonecrosis of a Rat Model of Osteonecrosis"
2012 - Dr Bhavik Patel - "Therapeutic Drug Monitoring of Beta-Lactam Antibiotics in Burns Patients - A One Year Prospective Study"
2011 - Dr Benjamin Lancashire - "Are Patient Outcomes Following Laparoscopic Fundoplication Compromised When Performed by Surgical Trainees Versus Consultant Surgeons?"
2010 - Dr Michael Wagels - "Neovascularisation in Muscle Flaps: Implications for the Reconstruction of Lower Limb Trauma"
2009 - Dr Ian Vella - "A Novel Wnt Pathway Associated Transcription Factor Associated With Metastatic Prostate Cancer"
2008 - Dr Stuart John Collins - "Evaluation of a 3 Dimensional Visualisation System for Laparoscopic Surgery"
2007 - Dr Rumal WaruniJayalath - "The Measurement and Clinical Determinants of Infra- Renal Abdominal Aortic Calcification"
2006 - Dr Anthony Samuel Dowthwaite - "Accuracy of Real-time Telemedicine for Paediatric ENT Pre-admission Screening"
2005 - Dr Sharmila Balanathan - "G3BP2 As a Tumour associated Antigen in Breast Cancer"
2004 - Dr Teong Lip Chuah - "Gene Therapy for Gliomas using Antitense ATM CDNA Lentivirus"
2003 - Dr Wendy Wei-Yee Wong - "Whether Antispasmodics reduce the discomfort of Rigid Sigmoidoscopy- a Prospective, Randomised, Double Blind, Placebo Controlled Trial of 100 Patients"
2002 - Dr Troy Richard John Gianduzzo - "Prostatic and Peripheral Blood Selenium Levels after Oral Supplementation"
2001 - Dr Jamie Michael Reynolds - "The Effects of Gonadotropin Inhibition on Human Non-Seminomatous Testicular Tumours"
2000 - Dr Scott Thomas McClintock - "The Assessment of the Inter-Observer Agreement in the Gleason Grading of Prostate Cancer from Needle Biospy Specimens"
1999 - Dr Gregory James Malone - "CD44 Expression in Renal Cell Carcinoma is Upregulated by Tumour-Host Interactions"
1998 - Dr Peter William Swindle - "Distinction between Adenocarcinoma of the Prostate and Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia using Magnetic Resonance Spectroscopy"
1997 - Dr Glen Allan Wood - "Bowel Motility Following Enterocystoplasty"
1996 - Dr Anthony Michael Watt - "The Examination of the Potential of the Corpus Cavernosum as a means of Intravenous Access in the Emergency Setting"
1995 - Dr David Norman Colledge - "Computer-based Surgical Audit Programs: A Review of Three Current Options"
1994 - Dr Maureen Ann Theresa Hollyoak - "Beneficial Wound Healing and Metabolic Effects of Clenbuterol in Burned and Non-Burned Rats"
1993 - Dr Anthony John Grabs - "The Influence of Hyperthermia on Multiple Melanoma Cell Lines Treated with Melphalan"
1992 - Dr Richard James William Theile - "Diagnosis of Abdominal Sepsis in i.c.u. Patients
1991 - Dr Russell John Price - "Electronic Restoration of the Blink"
1990 - Dr Andrew Norman Whittle - "Athroscopy in Traumatic Haemarthrosis of the Knee"
1989 - Dr Gregory Bruce Nolan - "The Reliability of Computerised Tomography in Diagnosis of Blunt Abdominal Trauma"
1988 - Dr Peter Chi Kam Chan - "Microvascular Invasion as a Prognostic Determinant in Human Primary Breast Carcinoma"
1987 - Dr Kevin Joseph Feely - "Voice Rehabilitation after Laryngectory"
1986 - Dr David John Schache - "Femoral Arterial False Aneurysms"
1985 - Dr Neil Robert Wetzig - "Operative Conservation of the Ruptured Spleen"
1984 - Dr Jeremy Bartlett - "A Review of Routine Operative Cholangiography"
1983 - Dr David Allan Frederick Morgan - "An Experimental Study of Latrogenically Induced Operating Theatre Burns"