On this page

was established in 2013 by the Queensland State Committee. It was developed to foster a link between the College and junior doctors and also the developing Surgical Interest Groups which are present in all medical schools at Queensland universities.

The award is for the best paper presented by a medical student or junior doctor at the Queensland State Committee's Annual State Meeting. The award is in the form of a certificate and a payment for the amount of $1,000.

Award recipients

2017 - Mr Evan Matthews - "Athero-occlusive Disease is Associated with Reduced Abdominal Aortic Aneurysm Growth" 
2016 - Dr Natasha van Zyl - "Activation of the Protein C Pathway and Endothelial Glycocalyx Shedding is associated with Coagulopathy in an Ovine Model of Truma and Haemorrhage"
2015 - Dr Dylan Morris - "Development and Assessment of an Angiographic Scoring System for Peripheral Artery Disease"
2014 - Mr Jonathan Quinn - "Comparrison of CT versus X-Ray KUB for follow up of Renal and Ureteric Calculi"
2013 - Mr Oliver Cronin - "The Association of Visceral Adiposity with Cardiovascular Events in Patients with Peripheral Artery Disease"