Upcoming Council meetings and events

In 2021 and 2022 both Council Executive and Council meetings will be conducted virtually and face-to-face.

Council 2021
Thursday 28 and Friday 29 October 2021

Council Executive 2021
Friday 30 July 2021 - virtual
Wednesday 1 September 2021 - Queenstown, AoNZ
Friday 26 November 2021 - Melbourne

Council 2022
Thursday 24 and Friday 25 February 2022
Thursday 23 and Friday 24 June 2022
Thursday 27 and Friday 28 October 2022

Council Executive 2022
Friday 28 January 2022 - virtual
Friday 25 March 2022 -virtual
Friday 29 April 2022 - Brisbane
Late August/early Sept 2022 (tba) - Wellington 
Friday 25 November - virtual

2022 Annual Scientific Congress
Monday 2 to Friday 6 May 2021 (Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre)
Monday 2 May: Convocation
Thursday 5 May: Annual General Meeting

Office bearers

Sally Langley
President and Chair of Council and Executive
Dr Sally Langley
AoNZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
Plastic & Reconstructive surgeon

Lawrence Malisano
Vice President
Dr Lawrence Malisano
QLD Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic surgeon

Adrian Anthony
Dr Adrian Anthony
SA Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Greg Witherow
Dr Greg Witherow
WA Specialty Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic surgeon

Andrew Hill
Chair, Professional Standards and Advocacy Committee
Professor Andrew Hill
AoNZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Office holders

Annette Holian
Chair, Board of Surgical Education and Training
Miss Annette Holian
VIC Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic surgeon

Ruth Bollard
Chair, SIMG Assessment
Ms Ruth Bollard
VIC Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

 Christopher Pyke
Chair, Court of Examiners
Professor Christopher Pyke
QLD Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Mark Frydenberg
Chair, Health Policy and Advocacy
Professor Mark Frydenberg AM
VIC Specialty Elected Councillor

Kerin Fielding
Chair, Professional Standards
Associate Professor Kerin Fielding
NSW Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic surgeon

Maxine Ronald
Chair, Professional Development
Dr Maxine Ronald
AoNZ Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Christine Lai
Chair, Fellowship Services
Dr Christine Lai
SA Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Henry Woo
Chair, Research and Academic Surgery
Professor Henry Woo
NSW Fellowship Elected Councillor

John Crozier
Chair, Surgical Audit
Dr John Crozier AM CSM
NSW Specialty Elected Councillor
Vascular surgeon

Owen Ung
Chair, Global Health
Professor Owen Ung
QLD Fellowship Elected Councillor
General surgeon

Jennifer Chambers
Chair, Prevocational and Skills Education Committee
Dr Jennifer Chambers OAM
SW Fellowship Elected Councillor
Vascular surgeon

 Sarah Coll
Deputy Treasurer
Dr Sarah Coll
QLD Fellowship Elected Councillor
Orthopaedic surgeon

Mark Ashton
Chair, ASC Conference & Events
Professor Mark Ashton
VIC Specialty Elected Councillor
Plastic & Reconstructive surgeon

Fellowship elected councillors

(in alphabetical order)

Rebecca Jack
Dr Rebecca Jack
QLD Vascular surgeon

Nicola Hill
Dr Nicola Hill
AoNZ Otolaryngology Head & Neck surgeon

Specialty elected councillors

Andrew Cochrane
Associate Professor Andrew Cochrane
VIC Cardiothoracic surgeon

Mark Dexter
Dr Mark Dexter
NSW Neurosurgeon

David Fletcher
Professor David Fletcher AM
WA General surgeon

Phil Morreau
Mr Philip Morreau
AoNZ Paediatric surgeon

Raymond Sacks
Professor Raymond Sacks
NSW Otolaryngology Head & Neck surgeon

Co-opted councillors

Rob Knowles

The Hon Rob Knowles AO
VIC Expert community advisor (non FRACS)

Souella Cumming

Ms Souella Cumming
AoNZ Expert community advisor (non FRACS)

Nishanthi Gurusinghe

Dr Nishanthi Gurusinghe 
TAS General Surgeon, representing Tasmanian Fellows

Charles Jenkinson 

Dr Charles Jenkinson
RACS Trainees' Association representative

Invited observers

Pecky De Silva

Dr Upeksha (Pecky) De Silva
NSW Younger Fellows representative

Vanessa Beavis

Dr Vanessa Beavis
President, Australian & New Zealand College of Anaesthetists

Principal advisors to Council

John Quinn
Dr John Quinn AM
Executive Director for Surgical Affairs Australia

Sarah Rennie
Ms Sarah Rennie
Surgical Adviser Aotearoa New Zealand

Spencer Beasley
Professor Spencer Beasley ONZM
Surgical Adviser Aotearoa New Zealand

Guy Maddern
Professor Guy Maddern
Surgical Director of Research & Evaluation

 John Biviano
Mr John Biviano
Chief Executive Officer