On this page

Sir Henry Newland was an eminent surgeon of his time and the Chairman of the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons' State Committee in South Australia from 1939-1942.

The Sir Henry Newland Award is in the form of a medal with an accompanying certificate and can be made to SA based Trainees, IMGs and Fellows, medical practitioners or members of the public.

The South Australian (SA) State Committee can award up to three awards each year and these are presented at the SA Annual Scientific Meeting or at the SA State Committee Dinner.

Policy for the Sir Henry Newland Award (PDF 22.34KB) 

Award recipients

2022 - Dr Tim Proudman
2021 - Dr Tony Sparnon
2020- Adjunct Professor Peter Reilly and Professor Franklin Bridgewater
2018 - Mr Glenn McCulloch
2017 - Associate Professor Mohan Rao
2016 - Professor Glyn Jamieson
2015 - Mr William Proudman
2014 - Mr Thomas Stevenson
2013 - Professor Donald Simpson