This Mark Killingback Prize, is awarded by the Royal Australasian College of Surgeons (RACS), and the Colon and Rectal Surgery Section

The prize is named in honour of Dr Mark Killingback not only to acknowledge his significant contributions to colon and rectal surgery in Australia and New Zealand, but his commitment to encouraging surgical trainees and young surgeons into the specialty of colon and rectal surgery and by example to practise exclusively in that specialty.

Marcus James Killingback AM FRACS FRCS (Edin) FRCS (Eng), FASCRS (Hon) MS MBBS was born in 1930 and practised colon and rectal surgery in Sydney for thirty-seven years. During that time he was both Chairman of the Section and President of Colorectal Surgical Society of Australia and New Zealand (CSSANZ), and in retirement authored "Colorectal surgery: living pathology in the operating room".

He maintains a keen interest in the activities of the Section, and the careers of the many colon and rectal surgeons he has mentored.


  • The Mark Killingback Prize is open to SET Trainees and Younger Fellows (within 10 years of receiving Fellowship) for research conducted in Australia and New Zealand and accepted for a podium presentation in the free paper session of the Colon and Rectal Surgery program at the Annual Scientific Congress (ASC).
  • The Prize is awarded for the best paper presented by those eligible at the ASC as judged by at least two members of the Section using an objective structured scoring system.
  • The Award provides a stipend of A$12,500 to cover a return airfare and accommodation (gratis registration is provided by the ASCRS) to attend and present the award-winning paper at the American Society of Colon and Rectal Surgeons (ASCRS) meeting the following year.

The Mark Killingback Prize recipients - Colon and Rectal Surgery Section

2022 - Kasmira Wilson 

2021- Tony Milne 

2020 -

2019 -

2018 - Ewan MacDermid 

2017 - Joe (Joseph) Kong
2016 - James Wei Tatt Toh
2015 - Primal Singh
2014 - Jevon Puckett
2013 - Cherng Huei Kong
2012 - Szelin Peng
2011 - Tarik Sammour
2010 - Tarik Sammour
2009 - Kamran Zargar Shostari