Oral and poster presentations

This year's research theme: Resilience

Presentation dates

The 2024 Scientific Research Awards have now opened. 

Abstract submission deadline: 14 August 2024. 


Annual Scientific Meeting

Date: 7 September 2024

Location: Crowne Plaza, Hobart 

Register here. View flyer here (PDF 188.01KB)


Fellows - $300

Trainees and retired surgeons - $150

Medical students & Allied Health professionals - $100

Cocktail/Networking Event - $50

Abstract submissions

Submit abstract here or scan QR code on flyer here (PDF 278.67KB)


Please direct any enquiries to [email protected] or call on +61 3 6223 8848

We thank you for your interest in these events and look forward to meeting you at one of the webinars. 

Abstract submission guidelines

Please read the abstract submission guidelines before submitting here (PDF 191.69KB)


Joe Shepherd Memorial Prize

This prize has been presented since 2006 in memory of Joe Shepherd, Professor of Surgery at the University of Tasmania, 1978 - 1993. Joe was recognized as a world authority on MEN-1 and vigorously campaigned for public education against cigarette smoking. The Joe Shepherd Memorial Prize is open to all consultants who present a paper at the meeting.

Peter Braithwaite Memorial Prize
The Peter Braithwaite Memorial Prize has been awarded since 1988 in honour of Peter Braithwaite who was appointed Surgical Superintendent at the Royal Hobart Hospital in 1948.  Peter served as a member of Council from 1967 to 1979, Senior Vice-President between 1977 and 1979 and was also a past Chairman of the Cardiac Society of Australia and New Zealand.

Peter Hewitt Memorial Prize  The Peter Hewitt Memorial Prize has been presented in memory of Peter Hewitt since 2008. Peter was a highly regarded hepatobiliary surgeon at the Launceston General Hospital and Associate Professor at the Launceston Clinical School of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Tasmania. The prize is open to all final year medical students who present papers at the meeting.    

Graeme Duffy Memorial Prize
The Graeme Duffy Memorial Prize is awarded for the best paper presented at the Tasmanian Annual Scientific Meeting by a registrar or intern.

2022 Award recipients

Congratulations to our 2022 Tasmanian Annual Scientific Research aard recipients.

Bongiorno Dr Dafydd Jones
Medtronic Grant Dr Catherine Cartwright
Peter Braithwaite Prize Dr Daisy Frankcombe
Joe Shepherd Memorial Prize

Dr Jason Lim

Peter Hewitt Prize

Dr Santosh Rendu

Graeme Duffy Prize Dr Laurent Willemot

Watch a past presentation